Home > Food and Beer Recipes > Beer Margaritas – Semi Homemade, Super Tasty

Beer Margaritas – Semi Homemade, Super Tasty

I’m not usually into cocktails, but someone gave me this beer margarita recipe awhile back and I’ve been itching to try it out.  We finally had some friends over who were willing to help me polish off a pitcher.

You don’t taste the beer.  I used mexican beer to stick with the mexican cocktail theme.  The recipe makes a good size pitcher, and although my margarita experience is very limited, I thought they were as good as any I’ve had.

Beer Margaritas


Ingredients

    • 1 (12 ounce) cans frozen limeade concentrate ( semi-thawed)
    • 12 fluid ounces tequila
    • 12 fluid ounces water or 7-up, or 6 oz of each
    • 12 fluid ounces beer (I used DosEquis – mexican lager works well)
    • ice ( lots of ice!)
    • 1 limes ( cut into wedges)
    • Margarita salt and glasses

Directions

  1. Pour the limeade, tequila, Seven-Up, water and beer into a large glass pitcher; stir with a long-handled spoon until completely blended and the frozen limeade has completely melted.  Adjust with extra water if the mixture is too sweet.
  2. Run a lime wedge around the rims of the glasses, and dip the rims in margarita salt.
  3. Add lots of ice to each glass.
  4. Fill ’em up, add a lime wedge and serve.


Notes:
  I used just water rather than 7-up.  I think it makes a dryer, more authentic margarita that doesn’t mask the tequila flavor.  If you want sweeter with some carbonation, then go for the 7-up.

Bacardi also has a great frozen Margarita mix that works well in this recipe.  The frozen mix comes in a 10 or 12 oz container.  So  I just dump the frozen mix into the pitcher, then use the empty container to measure out my water and tequila.

Great for a party, and particularly a good lady pleaser.  Don’t forget the ice, salt and limes!


Cheers beers!

  1. June 19, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    What a neat idea. Makes me want a beer and a margarita, and a dip in the pool.

    • June 20, 2011 at 6:15 am

      Yep, just add good food and friends and it’s a party!

  2. June 19, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    This sounds fascinating! I LOVE a well made margarita, so I’m a bit skeptical about how this would taste. But then again, I’m always up for trying a new beverage, so I may have to give this one a try. Nice photo by the way!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • June 20, 2011 at 6:21 am

      I too was skeptical – I’ve had this recipe forever and have been dying to try it, but needed the right audience because it does sound pretty odd. I actually used the Bacardi margarita mix, which may have been cheating, and no 7-up, just water, and good ole Jose C. They really tasted good, like the real deal. However, I will leave it up to the Cocktail King to determine whether they should be officially accepted into the category of quality cocktails. Let me know your thoughts if you decide to test them out!

  3. The Wookie
    June 19, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    What, no chunks of watermelon?

    Sounds like a neat idea but, like G-lo, I am a bit skeptical. I’ll wait for him to make a batch and then give it a try.

    • June 20, 2011 at 6:29 am

      Watermelon margarita, hmmm, that’s an interesting idea. Note, there is fruit. I’ve been branching out with my fruity beer combos, to be unveiled in a future blog…and perhaps a coffee table book. I have to work on my photography first (i.e. note to self – remove skimmer and Scooter the bottom feeder from background before taking photo) 🙂

  4. June 28, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I keep hearing such good things about beer-ritas that I think I need to have one this weekend. You read that correctly; I skipped the “want” stage and went right to “need.” Thanks for posting the recipe.

  5. June 29, 2011 at 6:22 am

    It’s a fun drink for 4th of July. Easy, tasty, refreshing, and you make ’em by the pitcher. Gotta love that! Cheers!

  6. July 1, 2011 at 10:36 am

    Great blog! Love reading your posts!

    • July 1, 2011 at 11:28 am

      Thank you! We just trekked through Iowa on our State Caps tour. Great beer stuff happening in the mid-west. I’ll be reading up on your blog. Cheers beers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

