Home > Off the Beaten Beer Path > 7 Tips to Get Fit and Drink Beer Too

7 Tips to Get Fit and Drink Beer Too

This post is for all of my fellow beer lovers who are trying to attain or retain slim summer swimsuit figures.  I’ve just recently jumped back on the fitness bandwagon myself.  Vacation is over, the weather is warm, the pool is open, and there are lots of outdoor activities to be conquered.  It’s the perfect time to kick the metabolism into high gear.  In fact, to ensure my dedication this time around, I took the plunge and signed up for my first half marathon; but with four months of training ahead, one of my biggest concerns is how do I fit beer into my running program?

Inspiration from the Beer Runner

You may have heard of the BeerRunner?  He’s vowed to run and drink a beer every single day for an entire year.  During this challenge, he’s posted tons of articles and blogs that favor beer and running.  Afterall, it’s not the beer, it’s the lack of activity that’s the problem…right?  Minus the fact that beer is empty calories, it dehydrates, slows metabolism, and causes hangovers.

Aside from that, I suppose beer isn’t really a requirement for me, but it’s certainly a temptation in my house, and not one that’s going away anytime soon.  In fact, I’m pretty sure the outcome wouldn’t be in my favor if it ever came down an ultimatum.  The point is, to be successful it’s important to plan how to handle temptations – as opposed to giving up the temptations altogether.

7 Tips for Beer and Fitness 

So here are a few rules and tips that I follow…

  1. Reward Yourself with Beer.  If (and only if) you workout hard, reward yourself with a beer.  A hard earned beer will taste that much sweeter when earned.
  2. Drink from a Small Glass.  Similar to the small plate = smaller portions tactic, I often drink from small 4 and 6 oz glasses.  Sometimes just a small drink is enough to satisfy the craving.
  3. Split a Beer with Your Training Bud.  Great way to reduce intake and still enjoy some social time.
  4. Add Fruit to Your Beer.  Maybe I’m weird, but I think summer beers are great with fruit added (as discussed in Tis the Season for WaterWeizen).  A full glass with half fruit and half beer reduces intake, provides bulk, and makes it feel as though you’ve consumed more than you have.
  5. Choose Lighter Beers.  No, not “light” beer, unless that’s your preference.  Many craft breweries produce beers that are lower in alcohol and calories, and big on flavor (e.g. 21st Amendment, Stone, DogFish Head, Brooklyn Brewery, and others).  That certainly makes it easier to go lighter.
  6. Drink Lots of Water.  Alcohol is dehydrating, so drink water before, during and after to prevent headaches, hangovers, fluid retention, and other potential excuses for not working out the next day.
  7. Make Training the Priority.  If you know there’s a chance you’ll overindulge, then beforehand, make a promise to yourself that come hell or high watermelon wheat, you WILL get up and workout the next morning.

Need Incentive?  

Take the Beer Runner Challenge.  Start by making a commitment to run at least 1 mile per day for 5 consecutive days.   If 30 people to commit to this challenge, then the Beer Runner will run a beer mile (not as fun as it sounds – look it up).

Pick a race and sign up!  Preferably a race that involves beer – many are supported by local breweries and open taps will await you at the finish line.

Or just find some friends and challenge each other.  The Daily Mile is a great social site that lets you and your friends log every aspect of your training, and track and comment on each other’s progress and statuses.   Hey, everything is social nowadays.  In fact, look me up (SimplP), I need all the motivation I can get!

There’s no time like the present to start getting in shape, and the best part is, you won’t have to give up beer!  With that said, I ran two miles this morning and I haven’t had my beer yet!

Cheers Beers and Happy Running!

  1. May 31, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    AMAZING POST! Very insightful as well. I definitely love beer and loathe running. I tried running a few months ago but after a week I gave up (boo!) These 7 tips for Beer and Fitness are cool and I’m considering doing them with a friend. Cheers for Beers! 😉

    • June 1, 2011 at 9:40 am

      Fantastic! By the way, don’t let the word “running” fool you. Many “runners” are in fact walkers/joggers. Simple fact is if you don’t enjoy it, then you won’t keep doing it, and consistency is key. I’ve had many crappy “runs” turn into wonderful relaxing walks. Just get out there and focus on that beautiful city of yours and build up at your own pace. And friends always make exercise more fun! Then go home afterwards and reward yourself with a beer! 🙂

  2. June 1, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Great post and good luck. Drinking one beer is different than drinking two or three or seven! When my wife trained for her half marathon we still drank wine, just less of it. And she tried not to drink more than a glass the night before a long training session or just drink on the weekends. You’re probably familiar with this blog, but she’s an avid exerciser and beer lover, so just in case…. http://lovesweatandbeers.wordpress.com/.

    • June 2, 2011 at 6:22 am

      Thanks! Yep, small sacrifices to achieve large goals, and any healthy lifestyle needs to incorporate the things you enjoy. The trick is figuring out how to do that in a way that’s doable for the individual – that may mean cutting back or just setting a few ground rules. I just met Tiff today through this post. Thanks for the introduction, I’ll definitely be visiting her site!

  3. June 1, 2011 at 10:09 am

    I love this post! I totally use the small glass trick at home. We have a kegerator, so I try to use my Tiff Cup that’s the same shape as a pint but approx 12 oz instead of 16.

    • June 1, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      Thanks Tiff! Yes, that’s a great thing about kegerators – you can pour as much or as little as you like. So glad you liked the post!

  1. June 3, 2011 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

