Home > Off the Beaten Beer Path > Tis the Season for WaterWeizen

Tis the Season for WaterWeizen

One of my favorite simple summer pleasures is watermelon. Rest assured, if watermelon is in season, then there’s one cut up in my fridge ready for bite-size noshing.  I’ve also been known to throw a scoop or two into my summer beer.  Oh, I hear your moans and groans; but truly, watermelon is a great addition to refreshing, crisp, blonde beers, like a heffeweizen, a Belgian wit or golden, kolsch, or pilsner.

This habit began a few years ago when my homebrew hubster had put a heffeweizen on tap.  Being a self-proclaimed mixer of beers, I decided to add some watermelon.  Think about it… we like lime in our Coronas, Blue Moon is always served with an orange, and a spoonful of blueberries are acceptable additions to blueberry brews.  Why not watermelon?

And so we dubbed my melon-beer concoction the WaterWeizen (intentionally pronounced weezen).  When poured over the melon, the higher gravity beer separates from the fruit juice leaving a pretty pink layer at the bottom of the glass.

Not only is this a great “lawn mower” beverage, but I also like to think of it as a lighter, more healthful option, since:

  1. It has fiber, and
  2. The watermelon is taking up space in my glass, so I’m drinking less beer, but still have a full tasty beverage.

So it fits in well with my wanna-be healthy lifestyle, and it tastes a heck of a lot better than “light” beer.  Not to mention, there’s a sweet tasty beer infused watermelon treat in the end.

Granted, pink beer might be more socially acceptable for us ladies.  But if you’re unafraid to let your freak flag fly, then go on, belly up to the picnic table at your next cookout and add a little water to your weizen.  It just might become a new summer favorite!

Cheers beers!

  1. The Wookie
    May 12, 2011 at 7:45 am

    I am usually against “fruiting” beer (as done with Corona and Blue Moon) but I must admit I am intrigued and will give this a try.

    Have you tried this with Hell or High Watermelon Wheat Beer from 21st Amendment Brewery?? [http://www.21st-amendment.com/beer/hell-or-high-watermelon]

    • May 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Ha! I was thinking the exact same thing when I read this, i.e. Hell or High Watermelon Wheat.

      Sounds interesting Paula. Curious to see if The Wookie follows through and tries it.

      • The Wookie
        May 12, 2011 at 11:46 am

        The Hell or High Watermelon will be in our canned summer beer tasting round-up …. I’ll have to drop some melon chunks in as part of the taste testing.

        • May 12, 2011 at 2:36 pm

          Let it fly Wookie! Let it fly!

      • May 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm

        I was just going to comment on this beer, the Hell or High Watermelon, myself. My husband loves this beer, but I can only tolerate it on a hot, humid summer day after mowing the lawn for some reason.

        I will try your method, Paula. Hope to give it high marks!

        • May 12, 2011 at 2:30 pm

          I hope you like it. I shall look forward to the reviews! By the way, congrats to that home brewing husband of yours. Fantastic news about the NHA recognition. Best of luck to him on the final round!

      • May 12, 2011 at 2:34 pm

        Ha ha! Letting the Wookie take the plunge first, eh G-LO? I guess no one is gonna question a 6’4″ carpet bag about drinking pink fruity beer. LOL! Just drink up some courage beforehand and give it a try. Its not that terrible, I promise!

      • May 13, 2011 at 9:31 am

        Yo Paula!

        When it comes to food and drink sampling, I have very little fear. I’m just surprised to hear that The Wookie (Mr. Don’t Fruit Up My Beer!) would offer to try this. I’ll be sure to take notes when he does.

        Happy Friday!
        G-LO

        • May 13, 2011 at 12:20 pm

          Good to hear G-LO! Cheers beers!

    • May 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Hey Wookie – The Watermelon Wheat is perfect for this and will be a fun experiment during your tasting. I personally didn’t detect any watermelon flavor in the beer when I had it, so I’ll be interested in reading your review. When you do try it, start with a 4 oz sample. I don’t want to be chastised for ruining a high quality can of beer incase you don’t like it, but I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

      • The Wookie
        May 12, 2011 at 5:51 pm

        4 oz Sample? Nah! Gotta go all in and give it a try with a big boy size. No training wheels for me.

        • May 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm

          Ha ha! 4 oz is practically a big girl size for me! Glad I could convince you to “fruit up” your beer Wookie. Let me know what you think. I actually tried it with a Magic Hat Wacko last night and it really worked well too. Cheers beers!

          Paula

  2. May 16, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    It’s a pity we are now going into winter down here… I can’t say that I would have even thought about doing this, but even the look of it leaves me wanting to try it!

    Cheers!

    Chris

    • May 16, 2011 at 9:48 pm

      Hey Chris! Hope you get a chance to try it. Perhaps during your visit to the states. Summer is just starting to set in around here, thank goodness!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

