Home > Upcycled Beer Crafts > New Life for Old Beer Bottles

New Life for Old Beer Bottles

A remote corner of our basement has been designated as a dumping ground for used beer bottles. Of course, the sensible solution would be to throw all these bottles in the recycling bin.  However, my husband the home brewer must have them around “just incase” he decides to bottle his brew.  I refrain from comment and instead accept this as a marital sacrifice that entitles me to creative brewing input and unlimited access to the garage taps.

That doesn’t mean I can’t use a few bottles here and there for other things. Being a crafty gal who just happens to specialize in glass arts, I started looking up some artsy ideas for reusing beer bottles (or wine bottles, whiskey bottles, etc.).  I’ve even made use of the bottle caps on occasion.  So I thought it would be fun to show some ideas for transforming those old bottles into something something cool and functional .

Bottle chimes – a must have for the front porch.

 

Beer Bottle Hummingbird Feeder – Paint using glass paints, wrap with copper wire, fill with nectar and plug with stopper. Hummingbird feeder bottle stoppers can be purchased on http://www.Amazon.com.

Beer Bottle Candle Holder/Centerpiece – quite the classy addition to any casual dining table. Found this one at the Dogfish Head Alehouse.

Cheers Beers and Happy Mothers Day!

  1. The Wookie
    May 9, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I love the candle holder but if I put that hummingbird feeder in my yard it might be mistaken as a craft beer feeding station by my neighbors. Next thing I know I got a bunch of middle-age men sucking down hummingbird sugar water and buzzing around my yard.

    • May 9, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      Oh, you must get that on video!

  2. May 21, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    I read recently in the newspaper about how scientists discovered that hummingbirds drink nectar differently then they previously thought. In case you haven’t heard about it, here’s a video link: http://www.newscientist.com/blogs/nstv/2011/05/how-the-hummingbirds-forked-tongue-traps-sweet-nectar.html

    I’m sure they will enjoy the beautifully painted feeder that you made for them.

    • May 22, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Hi Sara. Thanks so much for stopping by and for sharing the cool hummingbird article. Animals are amazing, aren’t they? They say the bright colors attract the hummingbirds, and once they discover a drinking spot, they keep coming back. We haven’t seen any yet, but I do hope they stop by and sneak a drink when we’re not looking.

      Cheers!
      Paula

  3. April 16, 2012 at 8:21 am

    How innovative!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

